Thank you to the Shorei-Kai Canada Karate Shuswap Dojo
for the use of their website to publicise this initiative.
flags2.png
shuswap_lake map.gif

SHUSWAP SUPPORT TO UKRAINIANS

Donations can also be made by:
 
 
    * Please send us an e-mail at shuswapukrainians@gmail.com to make 
       arrangements for pick-up.
(Previous weekly updates can be found
at the bottom of the page)

                  LATEST WEEKLY UPDATE

             Update #35 - Mon 28 Nov 2022
    

Go Fund Me thermometer - for website - updated 14 Nov 2022_001.jpg

 Shuswap Market News
   25 Nov 2022

Safe harbour found
in Salmon Arm

(pages A1 and A4)

 

Rotary Club of Salmon Arm
Chili Taste Off


Saturday 3 December 11:00 am to 2:00 pm

The Rotary Club of Salmon Arm will be hosting its second annual Chili Taste Off on Saturday 3 December as part of the Downtown Salmon Arm Holiday Market.   Last year, the funds raised went to the BC Flood Relief.  We are grateful that this year the proceeds will go to our Shuswap Support to Ukrainians project.  As limited tickets are available, please send an e-mail ASAP to shuswapukrainians@gmail.com to reserve your ticket(s).  Payment instructions will then follow.

SA Rotary Club Chili Taste Off Sat 3 Dec 2022.jpg
Arriving Wednesday 28 December
Dmytro Konobieiev
(Daria's husband)
Mariia Bulgakova
(Daria's mother)
Families arriving in the coming weeks
Zasiekina family.jpg
Mozol family
December/January
Balabak family.png
Balabak family
December/January

On 17 March 2022, the Honourable Sean Fraser, the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, announced the launch of the Canada-Ukraine Authorization for Emergency Travel (CUAET).  The CUAET is a special, accelerated temporary residence pathway for Ukrainians seeking safe haven in Canada while the war in their home country continues.  With the CUAET, Ukrainians and their immediate family members of any nationality may stay in Canada as temporary residents for up to 3 years.   

Want to do your part in helping Ukrainians impacted by the war?

 

Look no further.  You can help right here in our local Shuswap, British Columbia, community.  A team of over 60 local residents, from Sicamous to Chase, are getting ready to welcome Ukrainian families.  

 

You can help in two ways:

 

  1. Make a donation to our GoFundMe campaign (click on button at the top of the page); and/or

   2. Volunteer in one or more of the following support areas by completing this online form:  

                                                                   1 - Education                          

                                                                   2 - Employment

                                                                   3 - Financial

                                                                   4 - Fundraising

                                                                   5 - General support

                                                                   6 - Health

                                                                   7 - Housing

                                                                   8 - In-kind donations

                                                                   9 - Orientation

                                                                 10 - Social and recreation

                                                                 11 - Transportation

                                                                 12 - Welcoming

                                                                 13 - Translation assistance

 

 As time is of the essence,  please submit the form as soon as possible.  Based on your selected support

 area(s), the Support Team Coordinators will contact you with more information.

 

 Weekly updates are published every Monday.

 

Thank you.

 

Jean-Luc

Desgroseilliers

 MEDIA ARTICLES

South Shuswap Scoop 6 May 2022 article
Just Bring Them & We'll Be Ready

Pages 22 and 23

Castanet.net 20 Jun 2022 article
Ready, willing and able

 Salmon Arm Observer
   27 Jul 2022 article 

Residents step up
    for "newcomers" from         Ukraine      

              (page A7)
                         
         

"Ukrainian Families
in the Shuswap Area"
 
   
Articles in the Sep editions of the

North Shuswap Kicker (page 34)

and

South Shuswap Scoop (page 16)

 Shuswap Magazine
   Nov/Dec 2022
Meet some new Shuswap Ukrainians

 

 Salmon Arm Observer
   2 Nov 2022 article (page A5)
Residents rally in support of Ukraine refugees

 South Shuswap Scoop
   Nov 2022 edition
Veterans Remember
(see page 3)

WEEKLY UPDATES 

Update #1 - Mon 4 April 22

Update #3 - Mon 18 April 22

Update #5 - Mon 2 May 22

Update #7 - Mon 16 May 22

Update #9 - Mon 30 May 22

Update #11 - Mon 13 Jun 22

Update #13 - Mon 27 Jun 22

Update #15 - Mon 11 Jul 22

Update #17 - Mon 25 Jul 22

Update #19 - Mon 8 Aug 22

Update #21 - Mon 22 Aug 22

Update #23 - Mon 5 Sep 22

Update #25 - Mon 19 Sep 22

Update #27 - Mon 3 Oct 22

Update #29 - Mon 17 Oct 22

Update #31 - Mon 31 Oct 22

Update #33 - Mon 14 Nov 22

Update #2- Mon 11 April 22

Update #4 - Mon 25 April 22

Update #6 - Mon 9 May 22

Update #8 - Mon 23 May 22

Update #10 - Mon 6 Jun 22

Update #12 - Mon 20 Jun 22

Update #14 - Mon 4 Jul 22

Update #16 - Mon 18 Jul 22

Update #18 - Mon 1 Aug 22

Update #20 - Mon 15 Aug 22

Update #22- Mon 29 Aug 22

Update #24 - Mon 12 Sep 22

Update #26 - Mon 26 Sep 22

Update #28 - Mon 10 Oct 22

Update #30 - Mon 24 Oct 22

Update #32 - Mon 7 Nov 22

Update #34 - Mon 21 Nov 22

MISCELLANEOUS 

Support Teams tasks lists

Presentation given during
the 6 Jul 22 information meeting.